“Saint Demetrius” Church

Download laser 3D scanning data

“Saint Demetrius” Church, the year 1870. Patrimony number 1139. Monument of national value. It is located in Tatariv village, Yaremche City Council.
It is known with certainty that “St. Demetrius” Church already existed in the 18th century and was made of beams with a separate bell tower. The current wooden church was built in 1870 after the project of the Polish architect F. Męcziński, which was probably erected on the site of an older wooden church. Its original construction is a sample of the architecture of the Hutsul folk school: having a cruciform plan, it presents a single tower and figures carved at the ends of the beams. The plan of the church stands out due to the enlarged central tower and short side ends. The central tower has an eight-sided roof, supported by a large octagonal construction.
The harmonious shape of the place, specific to the mountain landscape, is completed by the equally original beamed bell tower. The church was covered entirely with weatherboard until the end of the 1980s.
Inside the church, the 19th-century tempera paintings are preserved. The old five-level iconostasis was painted by Antoni Orzechowski (according to the autograph on the icon of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker on iconostasis).
In the last decade of the 20th century, efforts have been focused on maintaining the interior of the sacred ensemble in Tatariv in good condition. The large-scale reconstruction in 2017, keeping the tempera paintings inside the ensemble, restored its original appearance.

Interesting nearby:

“This website has been produced with the assistance of the European Union. The contents of this publication are the sole responsibility of Ivano-Frankivsk National Technical University of Oil and Gas and can in no way be taken to reflect the views of the European Union or of the Joint Operational Programme Romania-Ukraine 2014-2020 management structures”.
The Joint Operational Programme Romania-Ukraine 2014-2020 is financed by the European Union through the European Neighbourhood Instrument and co-financed by the participating countries in the Programme.